Task Force to Coordinate Ecumenical & Interreligious Work


2018-D055  Coordination of Ecumenical and Interreligious Work

Resolved, the House of Deputies concurring, That the 79th General Convention, pursuant to Joint Rule IX.22, create a task force with membership appointed by the Presiding Bishop and the President of the House of Deputies to report annually to the Standing Commission on Structure, Governance, Constitution and Canons (SCSGCC) its work in addressing matters of ecumenical and interreligious significance, including but not limited to: respond to ecumenical and interreligious issues that may arise between meetings of General Convention; have primary responsibility for developing responses to ecumenical and interreligious documents; assist the Presiding Bishop, appropriate DFMS staff, and the Executive Council with formulating and implementing ecumenical and interreligious policy; and provide such other assistance and counsel to the SCSGCC with respect to matters that come before the SCSGCC that have ecumenical or interreligious significance, in collaboration with the Deputy for Ecumenical and Interreligious Relations and Episcopal Diocesan Ecumenical and Interreligious Officers; and be it further

Resolved, That the task force shall begin on January 1, 2019, and end at the end of the 81st General Convention, unless its mandate is extended by that Convention; and be it further

Resolved, That the task force shall provide an interim report to the 80th General Convention; and be it further

Resolved, That the membership of this task force include up to three Bishops appointed by the Presiding Bishop for six-year terms; up to three Priests and/or Deacons and up to three lay persons appointed by the President of the House of Deputies for six-year terms; and up to three members of the SCSGCC appointed by the SCSGCC.