Joint Audit Committee of the Executive Council and the DFMS


Canon I.4.3

Sec. 3 Upon joint nomination of the Chair and the Vice-Chair, the Executive Council shall elect an Audit Committee of the Council and the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society. The Committee shall be composed of six members: one from the Executive Council committee with primary responsibility for financial matters; one from the Joint Standing Committee on Program, Budget, and Finance; and the remaining four from members of the Church-at large having experience in general business and financial practices. The members shall serve for a term of three years beginning on January 1 following a regular meeting of the General Convention or immediately following their appointment, whichever comes later, and continue until a successor is appointed, and may serve two consecutive terms, after which a full triennium must elapse before being eligible for re-election. Annually the Audit Committee shall elect a Chair of the Committee from among its members. The Audit Committee shall regularly review the financial statements relating to all funds under the management or control of the Council and the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society and shall report thereon at least annually to the Council.