HOUSE OF BISHOPS COMMITTEE ON THEOLOGY

Membership

The Rt. Rev. Thomas Breidenthal, Chair	Southern Ohio, V	2018
The Rt. Rev. Laura Ahrens	Connecticut, I	2021
The Rt. Rev. Larry R. Benfield, D.D.	Arkansas, VII	2018
The Rev. Dr. Kelly Brown Douglas	Maryland, III	2021
The Rev. Sathianathan Clarke, Th.D.	Maryland, III	2018
Dr. Stephen Edward Fowl	Maryland, III	2018
The Rt. Rev. R. William Franklin	Western New York, II	2021
Dr. Charles T. Mathewes	Virginia, III	2018
Dr. Beverly Mitchell	Washington, III	2021
The Rt. Rev. Allen Shin	New York, II	2021
The Rt. Rev. Prince G. Singh	Rochester, II	2021
The Rt. Rev. George Wayne Smith	Missouri, V	2018
Dr. Kathryn Tanner	Connecticut, I	2018
The Rt. Rev. G. Porter Taylor	Western North Carolina, IV	2018
The Rev. Canon James F. Turrell, Ph.D.	Bethlehem, III	2018

Ms. Jacqueline B. Winter, Executive Director of The Anglican Theological Review

Summary of Work

The House of Bishops Theology Commission is appointed by the Presiding Bishop and serves as a resource to the bishops as they pursue their teaching ministry in the church. At present, the committee comprises eight (8) bishops and seven (7) academic theologians.

The committee was in abeyance for the first part of the triennium. I was appointed chair by the Presiding Bishop in 2016 and began to develop a new roster of members (as usual, eight (8) bishops and seven (7) academic theologians). The Presiding Bishop made those appointments, and we met in May of 2017 in Cincinnati to get organized. We decided that our work should support and be aligned with the Presiding Bishop's call to work toward becoming Beloved Community, and we divided into three (3) subgroups to begin to develop starting points for moving forward on that basis. These subgroups focused on three (3) areas relating to racism and/or racial reconciliation: (1) historic documents; (2) narratives that shape us; and (3) scriptural, patristic and liturgical resources.

We met again in January of 2018 in New York. There we cemented our focus on racial reconciliation, building on the work of our sub-groups. We see this focus as ongoing for at least several years, as we

reflect on and seek to articulate the relation of the Beloved Community to our creation in the image of God, and to the Church as the body of Christ. In the short term, we hope to provide the House of Bishops (and any other interested parties) with easily accessible theological resources ahead of General Convention. With that in mind, we will be meeting in Chicago in May to finalize this first phase of our work.

The membership of the committee is as follows:

The Rev. Dr. Sathi Clarke – three (3) year term

The Rev. Dr. Kelly Brown Douglas - six (6) year term

Dr. Stephen Fowl – three (3) year term

Dr. Charles Mathewes – three (3) year term

The Rev. Dr. Beverly Mitchell – six (6) year term

Dr. Kathryn Tanner – three (3) year term

The Rev. Canon Dr. James Turrell – three (3) year term

The Rt. Rev. Laura Ahrens – six (6) year term

The Rt. Rev. Larry R. Benfield, D.D. – three (3) year term

The Rt. Rev. Thomas Breidenthal, Committee Chair

The Rt. Rev. R. William Franklin - six (6) year term

The Rt. Rev. Allen Shin – six (6) year term

The Rt. Rev. Prince G. Singh – six (6) year term

The Rt. Rev. George Wayne Smith – three (3) year term

The Rt. Rev. G. Porter Taylor – three (3) year term

Ms. Jacqueline B. Winter, Executive Director of The Anglican Theological Review

Submitted by: The Rt. Rev. Thomas E. Breidenthal